June 21 – July 14, 2013


Contains Suggestive Behavior, Partial Nudity

Based on the novel by Alice Walker

Adapted for the stage by Marsha Norman

Music and Lyrics by Brenda Russell, Allee Willis, and Stephen Bray

This musical adaptation of Alice Walker’s Pulitzer Prize-winning novel is the story of Celie, a downtrodden young woman who, through love, finds strength and her own unique voice despite a lifetime of abuse and adversity. With a score filled with jazz, ragtime, blues and gospel, The Color Purple is a celebration of the healing power of love and the human will to persevere. Nominated for 11 Tony Awards in 2006 including Best Musical and Best Original Score.

Sponsored by tamburrino, inc., Friends of the Church Health Center, Happy Jones & Fred Terry, Friends of Concord Academy, Friends of the YWCA of Greater Memphis, Friends of Church Health Center

REVIEW: “The Color Purple at Playhouse on the Square is a rousing success on nearly every level.” – Jon Sparks, The Commercial Appeal / Go Memphis

REVIEW: “(Tony) Horne’s cast for The Color Purple is an embarrassment of riches, top to bottom.” – Chris Davis, Memphis Flyer


  • Celie: Claire D. Kolheim
  • Nettie: Dominique Duarte
  • Shug: Crystin Gilmore
  • Sophia: Valerie Houston
  • Squeak: Noby Edwards
  • Mister: Jerry Rogers
  • Harpo: AJ Bernard
  • Young Celie: Tyanna Fowler
  • Young Nettie: Madisen White
  • Young Harpo: Hayden Gray
  • Church Ladies: Montanez Shepherd, Deneka Lewis, Breyannah Tillman
  • Ensemble: Kellee Fuller, Lemondra Hamilton, Guillermo Jermott, Keia Johnson, Jeremy Lawson, Justin Nelson, Tamara Prince-Parrish, Don Thomas, Tanisha Ward, Noelia Warnette,  J-Blake White, Arthella Williams


Director: Tony Horne

Choreographer: Emma Crystal

Dramaturg: Leslie Reddick

Assistant Dramaturg: Kristi Steele

Music Director: Renée Kemper

Production Stage Manager: Katharine Stubblefield

Assistant Stage Manager: Beckett Scott

Scenic Designer: Tim McMath

Costume Designer: Rebecca Powell

Hair and Makeup: Nick Bursoni

Sound Designer: Zach Badreddine

Lighting Designer: John Horan

Technical Director: Kat DeCamillo


Conductor/Keyboard: Renée Kemper

Violin: Tammy Holt

Oboe, Clarinet, Sax: Nathan Nix

Clarinet, Sax: Michael Westmoreland

Trumpet: Kyle Millsap

Trombone: Ken Spain

Dobro, Guitar: Ed Richter

Bass: Kevin Blair

Drums, Percussion: Ed Murray